Check Your State Requirements

Home » Check Your State Requirements

The laws and requirements for a massage therapy license vary from state to state. Please take note that these laws and requirements are changing constantly but we will do our best to provide you with the latest information possible.  To check your state’s massage therapy license requirements please select your state below. We are an NCBTMB approved provider for continuing education which most states accept as well as AMTA and ABMP.

Alabama
It is our current understanding that Alabama requires massage therapists to complete 16 CE hour every two years. This includes 16 CE for online courses. Be advised that they do not allow Facial Massage, unless you are an esthetician . If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Alabama Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Alabama Board is 334-269-9990 or follow this link to their website.
Alaska
It is our current understanding that, in Alaska, the proposed continuing educational proposal will be 12 CE by July 2017 and 24 Ce after which can be acquired online. For further information check the Board of Massage for Alaska website.
Arizona
It is our current understanding that Arizona requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours ( 12 live and 12 online)every 2 years for license renewal. Arizona accepts NCBTMB approved Courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Arizona Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Arizona Board is 602-542-8604 or follow this  link to their website.

Arkansas
It is our current understanding that Arkansas requires massage therapists to complete 18 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal of which our live courses are approved. Arkansas only allows 6 CE online and they must be non-hands on CE related to massage, such as our Ethics course. Arkansas accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Arkansas Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Arkansas Board is 501-683-1448 or follow this link to their website.

California
It’s our current understanding that there are two levels of massage therapy certification in California. A Certified Massage Therapist (CMT) must have at least 500 hours of formal education and training in massage therapy.
A Certified Massage Practitioner (CMP) has completed between 250 to 499 hours of massage therapy training.There are currently no continuing education requirements for renewal of the CMT or CMP certification.If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the California Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the California Board is 916-669-5336 or follow this link to their website.
Colorado
It’s our current understanding that, in Colorado, the Colorado Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed by January 31st of each odd year.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Colorado Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Colorado Board is 303-894-7800 or follow this link their website.

Connecticut
It is our current understanding that Connecticut requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 4 years for license renewal of which 6 may be obtained via our online courses. Connecticut accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Connecticut Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Connecticut Board is 860-509-7603 or follow this link their website.

Delaware
It is our current understanding that as of 9/1/14, Certified Massage Technicians and Licensed Massage Therapists in Delaware must complete 24 CE hours, (6 CE can be obtained online) of continuing education every 2 years . (unless they have been licensed or certified fewer than 12 months before the 8/31 expiration date). Delaware accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Delaware Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Delaware Board is 302-744-4500 or follow this link to their website.

Florida
It is our current understanding that for license renewal Florida requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours of which 12 maybe obtained through our online courses and 12 CE of our live courses by August 31st of each odd-numbered year. Please take  note that the HIV/AIDS CE requirement is no longer required for license renewal. It is just for initial licensure. We are a Florida approved provider #50-2045 with CEBroker and NCBTMBer aovidpproved pr #403532-00

The 24 CE hours must include at least 2 CE hours in Professional Ethics, 2 CE hours in the prevention of Medical Errors and at least 2 hours in Florida Laws and Rules, which we offer together for 6 CE.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Florida Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Florida Board is 850-245-4161 or follow this link their website.

Georgia
It is our current understanding that Georgia requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours (12 CE online and 12 CE live) every 2 years, which may be obtained through our online and live courses by October 31st, for license renewal. Georgia accepts our NCBTMB approved courses. NCBTMB Provider # 403532-00

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Georgia Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Georgia Board is 478-207-1300 or follow this link to their website.

Hawaii
It’s our current understanding that, in Hawaii, the Hawaii Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed by June 30th of each even year.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Hawaii Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Hawaii Board is 808-586-2694 or follow this link to their website.

Idaho
It’s our current understanding that Idaho requires massage therapists to complete 6 CE live or online hours every year beginning with the second license renewal. Of the 6 CE hours, 1 CE hour must be in ethics. Idaho accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Idaho Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Idaho Board is 208-334-3233 or follow this link to their website.

Illinois
It is our current understanding that Illinois requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours ( 12 live and 12 online) every 2 years for license renewal, of which 2 CE hours must be in ethics. Illinois accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Illinois Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Illinois Board is 217-785-0800 or follow this link to their website.

Indiana
It’s our current understanding that the Indiana Board of Massage Therapy does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ certification renewal, however, certifications need to be renewed by May 15th every 4 years.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Indiana Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Indiana Board is 317-234-2051 or follow this link to their website.

Iowa
It is our current understanding that Iowa requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours ( of which 6 can be online) every 2 years for license renewal. Iowa accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Iowa Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Iowa Board is 515-242-5937 or follow this link to their website.

Kansas
It’s our current understanding that, in Kansas, there are no continuing education requirements for massage therapists because the state is without finalized legislation. Although a licensure bill has been introduced (indicating licenses would need to be renewed every 2 years and 12 hours of continuing education would be required) it has not been written into law, yet.

We suggest you check with your local government, department of health and/or local police department for information regarding local licensure.

Kentucky
It is our current understanding that Kentucky requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours ( live or online) every 2 years for license renewal, of which 3 CE hours must be in professional ethics. Topics relevant to ethics, business practices, science, and techniques related to massage therapy are accepted. Kentucky accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Kentucky Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Kentucky Board is 502-564-3296 or follow this link to their website.

Louisiana
It is our current understanding that Louisiana requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE (live or online) hours every year for license renewal. Louisiana Provider #179. Check Louisiana website to see approved.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Louisiana Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Louisiana Board is 225-771-4090 or follow this link to their website.

Maine
It’s our current understanding that, in Maine, the Maine Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed every year.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Maine Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Maine Board is 207-624-8613 or follow this link to their website.

Maryland
It is our current understanding that Maryland requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours ( live or online) every 2 years for license renewal, of which 1 CE hour must be in diversity or cultural competency, 3 CE hours must be in ethics, jurisprudence or risk management AND 3 CE hours must be in communicable diseases (to include HIV/AIDS). (The remaining 17 hours must be in massage-related courses.) Maryland accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Maryland Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Maryland Board is 410-764-4738 or follow this link to their website.

Massachusetts
It’s our current understanding that Massachusetts requires massage therapists to renew their license every year. While the Board states that massage therapists must complete continuing education in order to renew, the laws regarding continuing education requirements are still being drafted and have not been made available.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Board of Registration of Massage Therapy directly to verify Massachusetts’ massage therapy continuing education requirements. The phone number for the Massachusetts Department of Licensure is 617-727-3074 or follow this link to their website.

Michigan
It’s our current understanding that, in Michigan, the Michigan Board of Massage Therapy does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed every 3 years.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Michigan Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Michigan Board is 517-335-0918 or follow this link to their website.

Minnesota
It’s our current understanding that, in Minnesota, there are no continuing education requirements for massage therapists because the state is without professional regulation.
Mississippi
It is our current understanding that Mississippi requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years (12 hours per calendar year) for license renewal, of which 3 CE hours must be in Mississippi Law, Rules and Regulations and 3 CE hours must be in Ethics. We do not have Mississippi provider ship at this time.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Mississippi Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Mississippi Board is 601-732-6038 or you can follow this link to their website.

Missouri
It is our current understanding that Missouri requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours( live or online)  by January 31st of every odd year for license renewal. Missouri accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Missouri Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Missouri Board is 573-522-6277 or follow this link to their website.

Montana
It is our current understanding that for license renewal Montana requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE ( live or online) hours every 2 years.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Montana Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Montana Board is 406-842-2305 or follow this link to their website.

Nebraska
It is our current understanding that Nebraska requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 3 CE hours must be in ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Nebraska Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Nebraska Board is 402-471-2117 or follow this link to their website.

Nevada
It is our current understanding that Nevada requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours (live or online) every year for license renewal. Nevada accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Nevada Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Nevada Board is 775-688-1888 or follow this link to their website.

New Hampshire
It is our current understanding that New Hampshire requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours (live or online) every 2 years for license renewal.  New Hampshire accepts NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the New Hampshire Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the New Hampshire Board is 603-271-9254 or follow this link to their website.

New Jersey
It is our current understanding that New Jersey requires massage therapists to complete 20 CE hours related to massage and bodywork therapy every 2 years for license renewal. Of the 20 total CE Hours, 2 hours must cover ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the New Jersey Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the New Jersey Board is 973-504-6430 or follow this link to their website.

New Mexico
It is our current understanding that New Mexico requires massage therapists to complete 16 CE hours by October 31st, every 2 years, for license renewal. Of the 16 CE hours, 4 CE hours must be in ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the New Mexico Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the New Mexico Board is 505-476-4870 or follow this link to their website.

New York
It’s our current understanding that New York requires massage therapists to complete 36 CE hours (live or online) every 3 years for license renewal. New York accepts our NCBTMB approved courses. Our NCBTMB Provider # 403532.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the New York Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the New York Board is 518-474-3817 (ext. 1150) or follow this link to their website.

North Carolina
It is our current understanding that North Carolina requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 3 CE hours must be in ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the North Carolina Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the North Carolina Board is 919-546-0050 or follow this link to their website.

North Dakota
It’s our current understanding that for license renewal North Dakota requires massage therapists to complete 32 CE hours every two years based on your year of licensure.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the North Dakota Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the North Dakota Board is 701-872-4895 or follow this link to their website.

Ohio
It is our current understanding that, in Ohio , the Ohio Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Ohio Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Ohio Board is 614-466-3934 or follow this link to their website.

Oklahoma
It’s our current understanding that, in Oklahoma, there are no massage therapy continuing education requirements for massage therapists because the state is without finalized legislation.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may get in touch with your local government, health department and/or local police department for information regarding specific massage therapy continuing education requirements in your municipality.

Oregon
It is our current understanding that Oregon requires massage therapists to complete 25 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Oregon Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Oregon Board is 503-365-8657 or follow this link to their website.

Pennsylvania
It is our current understanding that Pennsylvania requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 4 CE hours must be in ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Pennsylvania Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Pennsylvania Board is 717-783-7155 or follow this link to their website.

Rhode Island
It’s our current understanding that, in Rhode Island, the Rhode Island Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed by June 30th each year.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Rhode Island Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Rhode Island Board is 401-222-2828 or follow this link to their website.

South Carolina
It is our current understanding that South Carolina requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the South Carolina Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the South Carolina Board is 803-896-4490 or follow the link to their website.

South Dakota
It’s our current understanding that South Dakota requires 8 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the South Dakota Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the South Dakota Board is 605-271-7103 or follow this link to their website.

Tennessee
It is our current understanding that Tennessee requires massage therapists to complete 25 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 2 CE hours must be in Tennessee statutes and rules and 2 CE hours must be in practice management, ethics or substance abuse.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Tennessee Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Tennessee Board is 800-778-4123 or follow a link to their website.

Texas
It is our current understanding that Texas requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Texas Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Texas Board is 512-834-6616 or follow this link to their website.

Utah
It’s our current understanding that, in Utah, the Utah Board of Massage does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ license renewal, however, licenses need to be renewed every 2 years.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact we suggest contacting the Utah Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Utah Board is 801-530-6628 or follow this link to their website.

Vermont
It’s our current understanding that, in Vermont, there are no massage therapy continuing education requirements for massage therapists in Vermont because the state is without regulation.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may get in touch with your local government, health department and/or local police department for information regarding specific massage therapy continuing education requirements in your municipality.

Virginia
It is our current understanding that Virginia requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 1 CE hour must be in ethics, or the therapist must hold a current certification from the NCBTMB.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Virginia Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Virginia Board is 804-367-4400 or follow this link to their website.

Washington
It is our current understanding that Washington requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 4 CE hours must be in ethics, communication and/or Washington state massage laws and rules, 2 of the 4 ethics CE hours must include professional roles and boundaries.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Washington Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Washington Board is 360-236-4847 or follow this link to their website.

Washington, D.C.
It’s our current understanding that Washington, D.C. requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours every two years. Of the 12 CE hours, 3 CE hours must be in ethics and 9 CE hours must massage-related course work.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the District of Columbia Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the District of Columbia Board is 877-672-2174 or follow this link to their website.

West Virginia
It is our current understanding that West Virginia requires massage therapists to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 3 CE hours must be in ethics, 1 hour of which must be covering Standard V of the NCBTMB’s Standards of Practice.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the West Virginia Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the West Virginia Board is 304-558-1060 or follow this link to their website.

Wisconsin
It is our current understanding that Wisconsin requires massage therapists complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 2 CE hours must be in ethics.

If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may contact the Wisconsin Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Wisconsin Board is 608-266-0145 or follow this link to their website.

Wyoming
It’s our current understanding that, in Wyoming, there are no continuing education requirements for massage therapists because the state is without professional regulation.

Disclaimer: It is ultimately your responsibility to verify all information, requirements and hours required by your State Board. If you see any errors please contact us so we can correct information above. If you have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements or if you want to verify this information, you may get in touch with your local government, health department and/or local police department for information regarding specific massage therapy continuing education requirements in your municipality.Barefoot Master® is approved by the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) provider number #403532-00